BookFiend's Blog

Read on!

Happy 2009!

Wow – Can't believe it's the new year already!  I have to start the count again for 2009. 

2008 was a pretty good year, even though I was delinquent in writing up reviews.  I'm just going to list the books I read for the year and give the final tally.  As I was making the list below, I re-read some of my reviews and was remembering the books I read, good and bad.  The books I haven't reviewed don't yet have grades (bad me!).  In 2009, my goal is to review as I read.  We'll see how that goes. In 2008, I discovered some new authors that I really enjoyed.  Julia Quinn among them.  In 2009, I will continue to try new authors, perhaps based on some blog recs (janicu, dear author, smart bitches). 

So, below is a list/tally of my 2008:  47!

(But when I get home, I'm going to look around to see if maybe I read 3 books I didn't remember to round it up to 50).

  1. Love You to Death by Melissa Senate, B+
  2. Second Hand World by Katherin Min, B+
  3. The Perfect Bride by Brenda Joyce, D-
  4. Out of the Shadows by Kay Hooper, B+
  5. Hiding in the Shadows by Kay Hooper, B-
  6. Servant the Awakening by L.L. Foster, D
  7. Creation in Death by J.D. Robb, B
  8. Fear No Evil by Allison Brennan, A-
  9. Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, B
  10. Speak No Evil by Allison Brennan, B+
  11. The Prey by Allison Brennan, B+
  12. Strangers in Death by J.D. Robb, B+
  13. Blood Dreams by Kay Hooper, C+
  14. Die for Me by Karen Rose, B
  15. The Accidental Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 7) by Lynsay Sands, B+
  16. Private Arrangement by Sherry Thomas, B+
  17. Good Enough by Paula Yoo, B
  18. From Dead to Worse (Southern Vampire Series, Book 8) by Charlaine Harris, B+
  19. Quicksand by Iris Johansen, B-
  20. Undead and Uneasy by Maryjanice Davidson, B
  21. A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton, C
  22. Escape by Carolyn Jessop, B+
  23. Pandora's Daughter by Iris Johansen, B
  24. Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas, A-
  25. Devil May Cry by Sherrilyn Kenyon, C+
  26. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan, B
  27. You Can't Hide by Karen Rose
  28. Blood Noir by Laurell K. Hamilton
  29. Fatal Voyage by Kathy Reichs 
  30. Unleash the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon
  31. Trust Me by Brenda Novak
  32. Lover Enshrined by J.R. Ward
  33. Absolute Fear by Lisa Jackson, F!
  34. The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn
  35. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn
  36. An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn
  37. To Sir Philip With Love by Julia Quinn
  38. When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn
  39. Nothing to Fear by Karen Rose
  40. The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever by Julia Quinn
  41. Between the Sheets by Robin Wells
  42. Dead Girls are Easy by Terri Garey
  43. The Immortal Highlander by Karen Marie Moning
  44. Dark Summer by Iris Johansen
  45. The Dim Sum of All Things by Kim Wong Keltner
  46. Into the Storm by Suzanne Brockmann
  47. Archeron (Dark-Hunter, Book 12) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Goal for next year: 50 again. I can dooo it! 🙂

2 responses to “Happy 2009!

  1. janicu January 2, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    You’re already up to book 8 in the Stackhouse series?? I only just got book 2 today. 😛
    So what was the best book of 2008 for you?

  2. BookFiendO January 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Yes, I’ve been reading the Sookie Stackhouse books since almost the beginning of the series. I might have missed Book 7 though.  I was a bit confused at the beginning of Book 8. 
    Hmm. Hard to pick a best book of the year.  I would say the best part of the year was discovering Julia Quinn.  I really enjoyed the books I read out of her Bridgerton sibling series.  (I have a huge review post on Julia Quinn that I need to finish.)  And I look forward to reading more of her books.
    Looking at the list, I realize I’ve been reading a lot of crappy books by authors I enjoyed before, simply because it’s hard for me to give up on a series.  But there have been good ones.  For example, Lisa Kleypas’ first book in a new series, Mine Till Midnight, is back in top Lisa Kleypas form.  Sherrilyn Kenyon has been up and down (mostly down, but Archeon was pretty good).   I’ve also been reading a lot of romantic/suspense/mysteries, which to me are enjoyable, but not something I’d read over and over again. 

Leave a Reply

