BookFiend's Blog

Read on!

Private Arrangements

Private Arrangements
Sherry Thomas

I actually have two other books I need to review before this one.  But given such strong reactions to this book on Dear Author and by Janicu, I decided to give my two cents here first.

First, I have to say, I hate Sherry Thomas.  No, not the book.  I enjoyed the book.  But Sherry Thomas, I hate – because she is living my dream.  Did you know Sherry Thomas is a Chinese woman who came to the U.S. when she was 13 years old?  Hello - I was 10!  Did you know Sherry Thomas went to school in Louisiana?  Hello, I grew up in the South!  I sort of picture her holding her English-Chinese dictionary in one hand and her Jane Austin in the other as she devours book after book.  Just like I did!  Ok, not really.  More likely I just skipped over the words I didn't know.  hehe.  Maybe this is why Ms. Thomas has now written a lovely historical romance whereas I am a boring … well, whatever.  *sigh*   Actually, that's not the only reason.  I know I can never be a wordsmith of her level and craft an "unputdownable" novel like she has.  So Ms. Thomas, hats off to you.

Now for the book.  Gigi and Camden have been living apart since the day after their wedding … 10 years ago.  (Every time I come across this fact in the book, I hear Janicu's voice going … *teeeennnnnn yeeeeaaaarsss!!*  Actually, since all the reviews I've come across lamented over this 10 year thing, it wasn't as big a deal for me.)  Camden came back when Gigi petitioned for divorce so she can marry another.  Camden agrees to a divorce – as soon as Gigi provides him with an heir.  This sets the scene.

I loved Gigi.  I really got a sense of who Gigi is – a strong woman, a practical woman, a vulnerable woman.  After being a victim of a fortune hunter in an incident that almost cost her her life, Gigi set her goals and went about in a systematic way to achieve it.  It's her way of taking control. 

On the other hand, I hated Camden.  I bascially blame him for everything that happened in this book. The big mistake Gigi made was lying to Camden and allowing him to think the woman he pledged himself to was engaged and married to another.  This lie, in fact, became the truth.  Only it didn't happen fast enough to suit Gigi.  When Camden finds out, the day before the wedding, instead of acting like a grown up, he decides to marry Gigi anyway, have his wedding night with her, and leave her for teeeennnn yeeearrrs!!!  Stupid man.

Gigi is very sympathetic to me.  She told the lie because it was obvious Camden and the woman he pledged himself to were not a good match just as it was obvious Camden and Gigi were a good match.  I could feel how unbearable it was for Gigi to not act and to let Camden go.  Gigi knows her actions were wrong and dishonorable and she's never forgiven herself for it.  I think this is why she allowed Camden to be so mean to her, because she believes she deserves the punishment (but she doesn't!).

The reason Camden stayed away for ten years is mostly due to his obstinancy.  He is constantly fighting with himself because he wants Gigi but he can't get over her deception.  He absolutely refuses to see the reason behind her actions.  Around year five, Camden almost loses it and goes back to Gigi.  But he misses the boat, literally.  What does he do at that point?  Sit on his ass for another five years. 

I loved how the plot turned around and now Camden realizes that Gigi is pledged to the wrong man for her.  And he finally feels some of the same pain and helplessness and desparation that Gigi felt before.  But instead of realizing this is the exact same situation from ten years ago and apologizing to Gigi and understanding why she did what she did, he LEAVES and makes her come to him.  WTF!!!  Camden needs to be on his knees begging Gigi to take him back.  Instead, he decides he would not do what she did to him (because he's a better person? because he's learned from her mistakes? bah!), and let her be the one to realize she is picking the wrong man, break her pledge, and come back to him.  I wish Camden would get off his high horse and just be a man.

Can you tell that I loved Gigi?  Camden, not so much.  I just don't see what's so special about him that she could forgive the way he's acted toward her for the past ten years. And in particular the way he acted toward her after he came back.  He came back basically to continue punishing her and get some booty in while he's at it. People make mistakes.  Get over it.  There is no point in being an honorable ass.

Hmm. You might think from this review that I didn't like the book.  But in fact, I did.  I actually enjoyed the book very much.  Actually, I didn't realize how much Camden annoyed me until I wrote this review.  All in all, this book lived up to the high expectation I got from all the reviews.  I would give it a B+. 

P.S.  I have to say that similar sentiment regarding Camden is expressed in Janet's review of this book on Dear Author. 

4 responses to “Private Arrangements

  1. janicu July 4, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I really liked the interaction between the two of them, especially at the beginning of the relationship. Pretty cute pair. Then we get the TENNN YEARRRSS and me feeling the torture of it all!!  TEN YEARS!

  2. BookFiendO July 4, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    haha. i know. everytime, i hear your TENNNN YEARRRSSSS in my head.  i like their interaction at the beginning too. until Camden’s obstinate stupidity got to me.

  3. BookFiendO July 5, 2008 at 10:16 am

    janicu – i think the 10 years thing might happen again in her next book.  she seems quite into this idea.

  4. janicu July 5, 2008 at 10:36 am

    TEN YEARRRSSSS. WHY?!?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

