BookFiend's Blog

Read on!

book storage issues

A somewhat rambling post …

I have problems – lots and lots of books. I love books. I love curling up in bed with a good book, flipping through the pages.  I love seeing books on my bookshelf. But now I have too many books.

I've been giving a lot of thought to getting an eBook reader. On the Dear Author site, they have been giving recommendations and reviews on eBook readers. But I'm confused as to what to get still. The problems I'm concerned with is the screen size, the lighting, the format of eBooks.  It sounds like there are a few file types and not all readers support them. Converting sounds possibly complicated. The price is not so cheap either. I want to get one where if I didn't like it, I wouldn't be upset I spent $300 on it. The other problem is whether there are enough eBooks sold. Do all the books/authors I like and would want come in eBook format?  And I think eBooks aren't cheap. Can you buy "used" eBooks? So many questions …

Overall, I think I want real books. But the problem is storage. Plus, there are books you read once and it's meh and there are books you read over and over again. Once I buy a book, I have a hard time letting it go, even if it wasn't great and I wouldn't read it again. Argh.

So lately I've been putting books in plastic bins. But I dunno. I like seeing my books. But we don't really have space for bookselves and for me to display all my books. *sigh*

I think a eBook reader is a good solution – then I can buy and lots of books, I can try new authors etc., even the ones I think might be bad, I can still read them and they won't take up space. But the market for eBooks and eBook readers might not be ready yet. I don't want to have a bad experience and be turned off eBooks forever. Btw, this would all not be a problem if my local library is awesome, which it is not. Darn it.

4 responses to “book storage issues

  1. janicu November 4, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    My rule of thumb seems to be if I think I want to read it again (even for certain passages) I keep it. Or if its an author I HAVE to have EVERYTHING by, its kept. But yeah – still more books coming in than going out. Do you still put things under your bed? I console myself with the fact that I haven’t utilized that space yet.

  2. BookFiendO November 5, 2007 at 7:41 am

    Yeah that’s my rule of thumb too, mostly. But then I run into authors whose books I started collecting but then got crappy – then you have these books that you love and the ones that are meh, but you’ve started collecting … dilemma! (ex: Nora Roberts, LKH, Linda Howard). Then what do you do? *sigh*
    Currently I just have books in those clear plastic bins in the closet. I have other crap under the bed. haha.
    What do you think about eBooks?

  3. janicu December 16, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    So I guess you know about this link – http://dearauthor.com/wordpress/2007/11/04/dear-authors-2007-christmas-buying-guide-for-ebook-readers-the-dedicated-reader/
    I went and googled to find that for you. Pet me! Of the ones listed I’m liking the Sony Reader – that’s if you KNOW you will use it. If you are just experimenting and don’t know if you will really use it, maybe the ebookwise since its like 1/3 the price – but the screen is way smaller and not as bright which are big negatives.
     

  4. BookFiendO December 16, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Thanks Janicu! *i pets you*
    I don’t want to start with something like eBookwise, which if I don’t like, might turn me off ebooks altogether. I am looking at Sony Reader and also the Amazon Kindle. The concern I have now is the support for various formats. Amazon Kindle has their proprietary format, AZW files. I think Sony also has their own proprietary format.  I’m trying to figure out their conversion support. I don’t have any ebooks now so I don’t have to worry as much. But what about going forward? The good thing about amazon is it’s a huge store. They could be the iPod for eBooks, which would be good. 
    I think at this point, I might wait and see if the Amazon Kindle will drop in price or if it will come out with a second version that fixes some of their current issues.
    ARGH. This is all so complicated! 

Leave a Reply

