BookFiend's Blog

Read on!

After a long absence …

Hello blog world!  You thought I had forgotten all about you, huh?  Nope!  But perhaps you have forgotten all about me?  *cries*!!!  Well, I admit I have been quite distracted.  A lot of traveling and personal stuff going on.  But I came across something that I just have to share.

Now, normally, I’m the most oblivious of creatures.  Things just pass me right on by.  But even I could not ignore what appears to be a blatant PhotoShop problem on the cover of Nora Robert’s Bride Quartet finale, Happily Ever After.

Happily Ever After by Nora Roberts

 

Now, take a look at the bride’s hand.  The one holding the flower.   The way that pinky is bent is just NOT okay. Plus, the bride appears to have no wrist.   Her arm goes straight to her hand.  Where is her wrist?  Yes, I know it should be hidden behind the bouquet.  But there is no way she actually has a wrist in this picture.  The arm looks stumpy.   So weird!  And why is the man’s ring on his right hand?  Yes, it is a wedding photo, but the way he’s holding her, we would not expect to see his ring.  Did they flip the image and then had to manipulate her hand so that it’s not covering his ring?  Um.  I would rather have her hand look normal than deformed.

If the image is not big enough on my blog post to see, click on the image.  It will take you over to Amazon.com.   You will see the disturbing digit on the larger image there.  Thanks to @janicu, I got a larger image.  Now you can see the stumpy deformity in its full glory!  Yikes!!!  After I noticed it, I could not stand to look at the cover.  So disturbing!

Since I’ve gone to the trouble of actually posting after so long, I suppose I should say something about the book itself.  I enjoyed it as a typical Nora Roberts book.  I confess, I got these books from the library and have yet to get my hands on the first of the brides quarter book – the one on Emma.  But, suffice it to say, you won’t miss much by reading these out of order.  As per usual Nora Robert’s fashion, each of the brides are different, yet Exactly. The. Same.  They are all strong women, who have a perfect sense of who they are, with strong friendships with the other women, who end up with the perfect men, who are all friends.  I don’t need to say much about the plot.  Rich girl meets poor boy who made good.  Girl and boy get together.  Boy has issues opening up.  They work it out.  Bam!  Happily ever after!

It was overall an enjoyable read.  The one thing that sometimes gets to me is the dialogues both the men and the women have, both internal and external.  No one thinks, or talks, like that!  Not men, not women.  No one!  But, it’s one of those things that’s typical Nora Roberts.  Most of the time it doesn’t bother me.  It’s just that sometimes, it gets to be too much.

Overall, a light fare perfect for a Sunday afternoon sitting by the pool.  I don’t have a pool, but if you had one, take this book out there and happy reading!

3 responses to “After a long absence …

  1. janicu June 25, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Good lord! A POST?! Could this BE?

    You have me cracking up at how obsessed you are with the hands on this cover. Also “No one thinks, or talks, like that! Not men, not women. No one! ” — hahahaha, laughing. :)

  2. bookfiendo June 25, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Hehe. I know! Can you believe I finally posted? Thanks for the bigger image. Now everyone will see the stumpy deformity! I tell ya, very disturbing …

  3. bookfiendo June 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Update: PhotoShop Disaster already noted this in their blog. Oh well! http://www.psdisasters.com/2007/01/answer-happy-ever-after-eww.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

